Grants Will Help Schools in 35th Senate District Expand Computer Science Education

HARRISBURG – Nine local schools received grants totaling $315,000 from the Pennsylvania Department of Education today to expand computer science programs for students, according to Senator Wayne Langerholc, Jr. (R-35), who serves as Chairman of the Senate Education Committee.

“As chair of the Senate Education Committee, this is just one more example of Pennsylvania investing resources in our students so they can obtain the skills they need to secure jobs in high-demand, high-tech fields,” Langerholc said.  “Our region, schools, students and job-creators will all benefit from this significant investment.”

Local grant recipients include:

  • Bedford Area School District
  • Blacklick Valley School District
  • Cambria Heights School District
  • Conemaugh Valley School District
  • Everett Area School District
  • Forest Hills School District
  • Moshannon Valley School District
  • Northern Bedford School District
  • Windber Area School District

The $35,000 grant to each school will support the introduction and expansion of computer science programming and provide training for educators to teach computer science to students from pre-kindergarten through high school.

The grants were awarded through the PAsmart Targeted grant program. Funding for the program was included in the 2019-2020 state budget as part of a broader commitment to encourage job growth and train students for quality jobs in Pennsylvania.

A total of 162 schools statewide received grants in the current round of funding.


CONTACT: Gwenn Dando    717-787-5400