Langerholc Announces School Safety and Security Grants

HARRISBURG – All the school districts in the 35th Senatorial District were awarded state grants today to help improve student safety through a new program supported by Senator Wayne Langerholc, Jr.

The School Safety and Security Grant Program was created by lawmakers earlier this year to provide grants to school districts, intermediate units, area vocational-technical schools, charter schools and private residential rehabilitative institutions for a wide variety of projects to improve school safety.

Eligible uses for the grants include hiring school security officers, purchasing security-related technology, completing safety and security assessments, implementing violence prevention curricula, offering counseling services for students, and creating other programs to protect students.

Each local school district that applied through the program was awarded a grant of $25,000.

Local grant recipients include:

  • Bedford Area School District 
  • Chestnut Ridge School District
  • Everett Area School District 
  • Northern Bedford County School District 
  • Tussey Mountain School District 
  • Claysburg-Kimmel School District 
  • Blacklick Valley School District 
  • Cambria Heights School District 
  • Central Cambria School District 
  • Conemaugh Valley School District 
  • Ferndale Area School District 
  • Forest Hills School District 
  • Greater Johnstown School District 
  • Northern Cambria School District 
  • Penn Cambria School District 
  • Portage Area School District 
  • Richland School District 
  • Westmont Hilltop School District 
  • Clearfield Area School District 
  • Curwensville Area School District 
  • DuBois Area School District 
  • Glendale School District 
  • Harmony Area School District 
  • Moshannon Valley School District 
  • Philipsburg-Osceola Area School District 
  • West Branch Area School District 
  • Purchase Line School District

“As a member of the School Safety and Security Committee, I am pleased every school district in the 35th Senatorial District received funding today,” Langerholc said. “Providing resources to school districts to keep our children safe should continue to be our top priority.”

The new program was created as part of a comprehensive school safety bill that was signed into law in June. More than $60 million in new funding was dedicated in the current year’s budget to improve school safety, the Senator said.

More information on school safety measures under consideration in the General Assembly is available online at


Gwenn Dando